GCCS Celebrates Champions

On Thursday, April 20th, The GCCS Educational Foundation and the Jeffersonville F.O.P. Lodge #100 hosted “Champions for Children” at Huber’s Plantation Hall to honor this year’s Champions, recognizing the many contributions of Greater Clark staff who, in their words, help the students in our community succeed and grow into our future leaders.

The event had a two-fold purpose. First, to recognize building certified and classified staff members of the year who have made an outstanding contribution to their school/building and community. The second purpose of the event was to raise much-needed funds for the Educational Foundation’s initiatives. It is the Foundation’s largest annual fundraiser and supports programs like the ACT Testing Initiative which covers the cost of the ACT test for all juniors, ACT WorkKeys job skills assessment to all seniors, classroom grants to allow flexibility and creativity in the classroom, and our robust teacher externship program.

The “Champions for Children” was an evening to celebrate excellence; excellence through innovation, excitement and enthusiasm in teaching and excitement in the demonstration of Greater Clark County Schools’ motto of “Bridging Excellence and Opportunities.”

Certified Staff Member of the Year

Congratulations to our Certified Staff Member of the Year Bill Jones from New Washington Middle/High School! Bill is a true Champion for Children dedicating 25 years of his life to the district. In 2014, Greater Clark County Schools began its pursuit of radio frequencies both Jeffersonville and Charlestown through a process initiated by the Federal Communications Commission. Through an interlocal agreement with the City of Charlestown, the district secured a frequency that is used at Charlestown High School and New Washington High School.

He has worked tirelessly the last few years to build the radio/television program at New Washington Middle/High School. He started training a group of students who had zero experience in the skills needed to run the program and in this short amount of time, he has trained them while building their skill and abilities. The extra hours spent outside of the school day to instruct and mentor students has creating something the entire school and community are extremely proud of. Students have gained self-confidence and are using media platforms to help teachers, encourage other students and spotlight community events. Bill is an example of an exemplary employee. His life is about helping Mustangs be the best they can be! Congratulations to the 2016-2017 Greater Clark County Schools Teacher of the Year – Bill Jones from New Washington Middle/High School.


Classified Staff Member of the Year

Congratulations to our Classified Staff Member of the Year Pam Haviland from Riverside Elementary! Pam has been with the district for 18 years, but a para-educator for 26 years. She began her career in the state of Washington where she completed an apprenticeship to become a para-educator and earned a Journeyman’s Card.

Pam Haviland has had a love for children all her life. She was a foster parent for many years and adopted two children. Pam has been active as a support person for her colleagues, serving as President of the Greater Clark Para-Educator Association for 16 years. During that time, she was responsible for negotiating contracts, instituting professional development, plus much more. In 2010, Pam was awarded the Indiana Education Support Personnel of the Year Award. Just this past year, she was elected to the Indiana State Teacher’s Association Board where she has been a presenter at many conferences and sacrifices many weekends to improve the education of our students.

Pam Haviland is a role model to those she works with and is respected by all. Her contribution to the district is immeasurable. Congratulations to the 2016-2017 Classified Employee of the Year – Pam Haviland from Riverside Elementary!

Administrator of the Year

Congratulations to Jeffersonville High School Principal for being honored at the 2016-2017 Administrator of the Year! Julie has been instrumental to support the transition to the Ford Next Generation Learning model all while working diligently to keep JHS a “B” high school (as defined by the Indiana Department of Education) for the past three years. Her focus on College & Career Readiness earned the school the recognition of being one of Indiana’s 200 Promising Practice schools. Most recently, ACT identified Jeffersonville High School as one of a select group of high schools in Indiana for the ACT College and Career Transition Award. High schools were identified based on ACT test data and high school demographics. ACT State Councils—comprised of education and workforce professionals from all 50 states—chose the school for state exemplar designation. Julie Straight is a true Champion!


List of Building Champions

Building Certified Building Winner Position Classified Building Winner Position
Administration Building Travis Haire Deputy Superintendent Brenda Chesher Executive Assistant
Auxiliary Services N/A Jim Dodds Maintenance
Bridgepoint Elementary Janelle Lewis Interventionist Sandy Felker Office Assistant
Charlestown High School Lisa Weber English Teacher Misty Woods Custodian
Charlestown Middle School Stacy Pehlke Fine Arts Teacher Mark Grider Custodian
Clark County M/HS Kim Caroll Middle School Teacher Dawn Bell Para Educator
Corden Porter School Bunny Nash-Gardner Special Education Counselor Telissa Smithers Para Educator
Jeffersonville High School Amy Cook English Teacher (Angela) Angie Liebert Interpreter
Jonathan Jennings Elementary Daniel Dietrich 4th Grade Teacher Misty Rothbauer Office Clerk
Maple Elementary Meredith Terry Special Area Teacher Lisa Scott Para Educator
New Washington Elementary Sherry Cummings Kindergarten Teacher Carole Brison Administrative Assistant
New Washington M/HS Bill Jones Radio/TV Teacher Phyllis Williams Custodian
Northaven Elementary Stephanie Hilles Reading Specialist (Lois) Diane Sanders Para-Educator
Parkview Middle School Melissa Ramey 6th Grade Math/Science Teacher Sherita Lee-Watson Para Educator
Parkwood Elementary Sarah Barlowe 2nd Grade Teacher Larry Ponzi ESL Tutor
Pleasant Ridge Elementary Amy Lawrence Kindergarten Teacher Teresa Aaron Para Educator
River Valley Middle School Stephanie Doss 8th Grade Math Teacher (Thomas) Robbie Thierman Custodian
Riverside Elementary Kerry Holder Special Education Teacher Pam Haviland Para-Educator
Service Center N/A Brenda Tucker Bus Monitor
Spring Hill Elementary Melinda (Mindy) Riley 3rd/4th (Split) Grade Teacher Kim Roby Para Educator
Thomas Jefferson Elementary Kristi James Special Education (Inclusion) Teacher Tami Czerwonka Health Assistant
Utica Elementary Mary Beth Lawson Academic Improvement Coordinator Autumn Zelli School Administrative Manager
Wilson Elementary Ann Williams 3rd Grade Teacher Pat McKinley Custodian

Check Also

Outdoor Activities/Practice

Due to the extreme heat, all outdoor events scheduled for today (Friday, September 13th) will …

Translate »