Champions for Children 2016

The GCCS Educational Foundation and the Jeffersonville F.O.P. Lodge #100 will host “Champions for Children” on Thursday, April 21 at Kye’s II in Jeffersonville. This year’s main sponsor of the event, the Jeffersonville Fraternal Order of Police, shared with the district their desire to be part of the event this year, recognizing the many contributions of Greater Clark staff who, in their words, help the students in our community succeed and grow into our future leaders.

The event has a two-fold purpose. First, to recognize our building staff members of the year who have made an out-standing contribution to their school/building and community, including 23 certified staff members and 21 classified staff members. One staff member from each classification will be named as the staff member of the year.

champinviteThe second purpose of the event is to raise much-needed funds for the Educational Foundation’s initiatives. It is the Foundation’s largest annual fundraiser and supports programs like the ACT Testing Initiative which covers the cost of the ACT test for all juniors, ACT WorkKeys job skills assessment to all seniors, classroom grants to allow flexibility and creativity in the classroom, and our robust teacher externship program.

The third annual “Champions for Children” is an evening to celebrate excellence; excellence through innovation, excitement and enthusiasm in teaching and excitement in the demonstration of Greater Clark County Schools’ motto of “Bridging Excellence and Opportunities.”

School/Building winners include (classified and certified respectively): Administration Building – Jason Davis and Amy Schellenberg, Auxiliary Services – Bill Peck; Bridgepoint Elementary – Kiyomi Bottorff and Season Neal; Charlestown High School – Brenda Jones and David Null; Charlestown Middle School – Elizabeth Brooks and Christy Tolliver; Clark County Middle/High School – Linda Duncan and Doug Murphy; Corden Porter School – Jackie Hilliard and Susan Daily; Jeffersonville High School – Nola Garrison and Mark Reilly; Jonathan Jennings Elementary – Cindy Boston and Amy Short; Maple Elementary – Janice Brewer and Phyllis Ferrell; New Washington Elementary – Frances Swettenam and Mag Young; New Washington Middle/High School – Lori Cross and Jonathan May; Northaven Elementary – Sharon Roehm and Christina Sonner; Parkview Middle School – Jen Blackwell and Steve Tull; Parkwood Elementary – Ann Wills and Courtney Byrne; Pleasant Ridge Elementary – Lynda Kent and Shelly Blake; River Valley Middle School – Yasmin Flores and Kyle Parr; Riverside Elementary – Debi Caldwell and Debbie Ettel; Service Center – Jim Cotner; Spring Hill Elementary – Evon Homeister and Lisa Carter; Thomas Jefferson Elementary – Amy Mayrose and Lynda Cannon; Utica Elementary – Donna Robinson and Jackie Sanders; and Wilson Elementary – Susan Chamness and Linda Coates.

Thank you to the other key sponsors of the event: $5,000 sponsor Aramark and $2,500 sponsors Bill Kaiser & Kevin Boehnlein with Edward Jones, Clark County Auto Auction, Geo. Pfau’s Sons Company, Kovert Hawkins, Neace Lukens and Your Community Bank.

Check Also

Ford Externship Panel

GCCSchools educators join teachers from across the river at JCPS in Louisville as part of …

Translate »